Skip to content

World no.1

October 9, 2008

Lee Chong wei

Lee Chong wei

For the second time in a row our local hero was beaten in the finals by a player rank below him.          5 and 10 respectively. 4 and 9 rungs below our no.1. That leaves us to question the current ranking system. I have little knowledge on how they calculate the points within the grade of tournaments but I do have a rough idea. As much I’m proud of a MALAYSIAN no.1, there is clearly a loophole in the ranking system.

If I were to be the best player in the world….well to make explanation easier, let say I AM the best in the world and I choose to play 2 tournaments in a year. I get a full 100 points in the grading system that will leave me 200 points at the end of the year. Compared to player X who plays 10 tournaments a year and qualifies for the last 16th in all tournaments. Lets say last 16th earns him 30points. By the end of the year, he will accumulate 300points.

If we were to rank each other, Player X would be ranked no.1

Now I understand that players prefer not to miss tournaments to collect valuable points to qualify for the World GP, etc… There are incidents where a player chooses to rest and skip certain tournaments or maybe bogged down by injury.

So if I am the best in the world, and choose not to play in more tournaments I am ranked lower where as if a player that is not the best in the world chooses to play in more tournaments and not win them is ranked higher…

I know for tennis they are bound by their sponsors and contract to appear at least how many time per year… if its not the same for badminton( Im not aware) then…

Is the world no.1 that elusive anymore?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark D. Lee permalink*
    October 10, 2008 12:40 am

    I agree with u Ken.. I think that Chong Wei must start winning to prove his World No.1 status.. so far he has lost to 3 players in 3 finals and he is world No. 1 is because of the number of tournament finals he has reached.

    He has also won 3 tournaments in the year along with the many finals he has reached. I am sure Chong Wei is feeling the heat for not winning his past 3 finals.. I think he has a good chance for the Danish Open which is coming in 2 weeks time. We’ll have to wait and see..

    Good post Ken!

  2. October 13, 2008 6:05 pm

    I agree with you. There is something wrong with the rank system.

    Keep posting,

    BADMINTON SHOTS

  3. November 15, 2008 9:37 pm

    hi are you lee chong wei friend?haha

  4. November 16, 2008 1:10 pm

    hi wendy.. na chong wei is not a friend..

Leave a Reply

